Adrián Beltré, David Wright, Chase Utley among newcomers on BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot

Adrián Beltré, Joe Mauer, Chase Utley, David Wright, José Bautista and Matt Holliday are among 12 new candidates on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot released Monday.

Todd Helton, who fell 11 votes short this year in ballots cast by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, and Billy Wagner, who was 27 shy, are among 14 holdovers.

Bartolo Colon, Adrián González, Victor Martinez, Brandon Phillips, José Reyes and James Shields also are making their first appearances on the ballot.

When Scott Rolen was elected this year, Helton got 72.2% of the vote and Wagner 68.1%,

Other holdovers include current “MLB on FOX” analyst Álex Rodríguez (139 votes, 35.7%), Manny Ramírez (129, 33.2%), Andruw Jones (226, 58.1%), Gary Sheffield (214, 55%), Carlos Beltrán (181, 46.5%), Omar Vizquel (76, 19.5%), Andy Pettitte (66, 17%), Bobby Abreu (60, 15.4%), Jimmy Rollins (50, 12.9%), Mark Buehrle (42, 10.8%), Francisco Rodríguez (42, 10.8%) and Torii Hunter (27, 6.9%).

Sheffield will be making his 10th and final BBWAA ballot appearance.

BBWAA members with 10 or more consecutive years of membership are eligible to vote. Ballots must be postmarked by Dec. 31 and results will be announced Jan. 23. Anyone elected will be inducted on July 21 along with anyone chosen Dec. 3 by the hall’s contemporary era committee for managers, executives and umpires.

Beltré, a four-time All-Star and five-time Gold Glove third baseman, hit .286 with 477 homers and 1,707 RBIs for the Los Angeles Dodgers (1998-2004), Seattle Mariners (2005-09), Boston Red Sox (2010) and Texas Rangers (2011-18). His 2,759 games at third base are second to Brooks Robinson’s 2,870 and his 636 doubles are 11th on the career list.

Mauer, a six-time All-Star, three-time Gold Glove winner and the 2009 AL MVP, is the only catcher to win three batting titles. He batted .306 with 143 homers and 906 RBIs with the Minnesota Twins from 2004-18.

Utley was a six-time All-Star second baseman who hit .275 with 259 homers and 1,025 RBIs for the Philadelphia Phillies (2003-15) and the Dodgers (2015-19). His five home runs in the 2009 World Series are tied for the record with Reggie Jackson (1977) and George Springer (2017).

Wright, a seven-time All-Star, hit .296 with 242 homers, 970 RBIs and 196 stolen bases from the New York Mets from 2004-18, his career cut short by neck, back and shoulder injuries that required surgery.

Bautista, an All-Star outfielder in six straight seasons from 2010-15, batted .247 with 344 homers and 975 RBIs for eight different teams but was primarily known for his stint with the Toronto Blue Jays from 2008-17.

Holliday was a seven-time All-Star outfielder who won the 2007 NL batting title. He hit .299 with 316 homers and 1,220 RBIs for the Colorado Rockies (2004-08, 2018), Oakland Athletics (2009), St. Louis Cardinals (2009-16) and the New York Yankees (2017).

Jim Leyland, Lou Piniella, Cito Gaston and Davey Johnson are among eight men on the committee ballot along with umpires Joe West and Ed Montague, former National League President Bill White and former general manager Hank Peters.

Reporting by The Associated Press.

Flippin’ Bats:

Get more from Major League Baseball Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

Related Posts

r1257858 1296x729 16 9

College football Week 13 highlights: Top plays, games, takeaways

David Hale, ESPN Staff WriterNov 25, 2023, 05:31 PM ET Close ACC reporter. Joined ESPN in 2012. Graduate of the University of Delaware. There will be so…

11.25.23 Big Noon Kickoff Best Signs 16x9

Best signs from Ohio State vs. Michigan

Since Jim Harbaugh was suspended by the Big Ten two weeks ago in response to the ongoing NCAA investigation into allegations of illegal advanced scout sign-stealing by…

r1257903 1296x729 16 9

New York Rangers top Boston Bruins in battle of East elite

Greg Wyshynski, ESPNNov 25, 2023, 05:42 PM ET Close Greg Wyshynski is ESPN’s senior NHL writer. NEW YORK — The New York Rangers outhustled the Boston Bruins,…


Postgame celebration; Tom Brady, more react

With no Jim Harbaugh and amid the Connor Stalions sign-stealing scandal, Michigan beat Ohio State for the third straight year in The Game, punching its ticket back…

09e9dced indiana2

Mackenzie Holmes reaches 2,000 career points and No. 21 Indiana women beat Princeton 72-63

Sara Scalia scored 28 points with five 3-pointers, Mackenzie Holmes had 20 points and eight rebounds, and No. 21 Indiana beat Princeton 72-63 on Saturday in the…

11.25.23 Ohio State Michigan Buzzer File V2 16x9

Michigan beats Ohio State for third straight year, first time since 1995-97

Bryan Fischer College Football Writer ANN ARBOR, Mich. — Ever since Connor Stallions’ name first entered the college football lexicon and an elaborate sign-stealing scandal threatened to…

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *